Search Result

1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017 / Allplan 2016 / Allplan 2015 / Allplan 2014 / Allplan 2013  | Last modified: 01.10.2020
 

Question:

A new computer is to replace the existing one.
How can I transfer the existing data and settings of the existing Allplan installation to the new computer?



Solution:

Please note that this solution only works with stand-alone versions.
Install the same version of Allplan on the new computer and transfer the data as follows:

1st - transferring the data:
Transfer the following folders from the old computer to the new one:
Project folder (PRJ)
Office standard folder (STD) and
User folder (USR)

You can determine the path to these folders on both the new computer and the old computer as follows:
Services application->Service->Hotline Tools->Showcfg: shows system variables ->OK
You can find the paths to the folders after PRJ, STD and USR.

2nd - transferring the toolbar configuration:
Export the configurations from the old computer by clicking View -> Toolbars -> Customize... -> Export...
You can then import the configurations to the new computer by clicking View -> Toolbars -> Customize... -> Import...

Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Installation_on_a_new_computer_with_data_tran...
Version:  Allplan 2021 / Allplan 2020 / Allplan 2019 / Allplan 2018 / Allplan 2017  | Last modified: 16.10.2020
 

Question:

How can I install additional Allplan workstations on an existing network (with or without Workgroup Manager)?



Answer:

Before you install the additional workstations, find out the path to the central file storage folder on a computer where Allplan has already been installed. Open the Services application on this computer. The Services application window shows the path to the central file storage folder.

Enter this path when Setup prompts you to specify the central file storage folder.
Select "Minimum" for the Setup type.



Notes:

  • Make sure the version you are installing is the same as the one installed on the other workstations.
  • In addition, make sure all workstations are running either with Workgroup Manager or without Workgroup Manager. To find out whether Workgroup Manager is installed or not, open the Services application and check the menus: if you can see the Workgroup Manager menu, Workgroup Manager is installed.
  • Installing additional workstations does not affect the data (projects, ...) in the central file storage folder.
  • If you add new users to a new Allplan workstation, do not forget to add them to the Workgroup Manager, too.
  • Version 2014 and earlier: if one of the computers also serves as the Allplan server, you cannot use the approach described above to find out the path to the central file storage folder.
    In this case, you will see the path to a local folder instead of the central file storage folder.
    Use a different computer to find out the path to the central file storage folder.
Download PDF  FAQ_EN_Installing_Allplan_on_a_network_later.pdf ...
1 - 2 (2)
  • 1
https://connect.allplan.com/ uses cookies  -  More information

Accept